What happens if you’re caught driving without insurance?
Being insured is a requirement when driving a motor vehicle in Ohio. Getting caught drivign without insurance coverage can leave you vulnerable to financial loss and penalties by law.
Driving without car insurance coverage could be a costly choice
Car insruance protects you as a driver, as well as others you encounter on the road. You may choose to forego auto insurance in hopes of getting away with a temporary savings. This could wind up with you paying thousands of dollars if you have an accident.
Before you consider drivign without insurance, we want to help you understand the risks – and help you choose more wisely.
What are the penalties for driving without proof of insurance?
Penalties for driving without insurance may vary from state to state. Depending on where you drive, you could face any of the folowing if you’re pulled over and don’t have insurance:
- Driver’s license suspension
- Vehicle impoundment
- Jail time
Regardless of the state you drive in, you’re likely to have harsher consequences for repeated offenses. Bottom line: getting caught without insurance will always have consequences.
Is car insurance required?
It’s the law in the State of Ohio to have car insurance with a minimum liability limit of $25,000 each person/$50,000 each accident for bodily injury coverage and $25,000 for property damage. This coverage applies when you cause an accident while you’re operating your vehicle. It helps pay for the bodily injury to others and for damage done to their property.
What are the associated costs of driving without insurance?
Financially speaking, driving without insurance can be costly, even beyond the costs insurance would’ve paid for. If you’re pulled over and can’t provide proof of valid car insurance, you could end up paying fines, driver’s license reinstatement fees, impound fees, and/or bail money.
What happens if you get into an accident with no insurance?
If you cause the crash, you could:
- Be held liable for any bodily injuries and property damage
- Pay fines
- Have your license suspended
- Have your vehicle impounded
Can you drive someone else’s car without insurance?
In may cases, you may drive a friend’s car – with their permission – and assuming your license is valid, their car will remain insured. Because each policy and insruance provider are different, it’s still important to review the insured’s policy details to help ensure coverage applies to your specific situation.
Fore example, if you live with someone who owns an insured car, their insurance provided may require you to be listed on the policy. If you borrow their car, are foudn at fault for an accident, and aren’t listed or are excluded from the policy, you may run into issues receiving compensation to cover the damages.
Call us for an instant quote for your car insurance today.